Skinny Chewy Oatmeal Bars

I just want to say..for those who say you cannot bake with 4 by 4 kitchen I prove you wrong. Yesterday afernoon my fiance’s oven and I bonded over almost melted plastic and almost ear thrashing alarms. BUT for the most part the procedure was a success!

Image

Let’s relive the drama!

First it started with preheating this quaint oven…

Image 

By the way, there was no indication of exactly how hot the oven was going to get, other then faded numbers. So by default I would say preheat around 325-350 degrees.

Second, make sure you have some sort of mixing tools before you begin baking.Image

Yes that is a cereal bowl, pasta spoon, and pie pan…

Image

And a rice cooker…

Image

Next!!

For some reason with this oven, the heat rises from the stove with a vengence that has the ability to melt or burn whatever is sitting atop of it.

Needless to say I needed to relocate everyting in the 4 by 4 kitchen, and turned the heat down…at least I hope I did.

Here we can see some of my tools and ingredients hiding in the cupboard.

The only available spot for the “mixing bowl”…atop the mini fridge.

After the mayhem, I was finally able to begin to compile my concotion.

Dry Ingredients

1. 2 cups oats

2. 1/2 tsp salt

3. 1 tsp cinnamon Sugar

Combine into mixing bowl

Wet Ingredients

1. 1/2 cup applesauce

2. 2 tsp vanilla

3. 2 egg whites

4. 1/2 cup honey

Combine in a…smaller mixing bowl.. (or cereal bowl if you do not have a regular mixing bowl)

Next dump the wet stuff into the bowl with dry stuff.

Mix it up until it looks something like this:

 

I know …it looks pretty awesome 😉

After about 15ish minutes ( at God knows what temperature) the bars are browning around the edge and are ready to come on out.

Oh and I drizzled a couple teaspoons of my fiance’s grandfather’s good friend’s homemeade maple syrup …yummm!!

And after all that I got this:

Image

As an FYI…it needs to be a little sweeter… raisins or little bit of brown sugar would go a long way. The total cost of the purchased ingredients (salt, eggs, and applesauce) were about 2 dollars. I got roughly 12 servings of these bars…wait a second…11 servings ( my fiance snuck one from last night)

Nutritional Info per serving

105.75 calories

1g fat

13.5g sugar

1.5g fiber

Hope you enjoyed this thrifty homemade deliciousness! If you get a chance, test it out and add your own personality to it 🙂

Thanks,

The Foodie

Leave a Reply

