Italian Bread Gone French

Heres the scoop on my most recent baking venture. I had a hankering to bake up something crunchy on the outside yet fluffy and strachy on the inside. Why not make Whole Wheat Italian bread?? Epic idea.

I decided that I would run (literally) to the grocery store (about 2.5 miles away) and pick up some whole wheat flour, yeast, and brown sugar (by the way it only cost me 4.77!!)Image

That same day I lunched out with my good friend and she offered to make a meal fit enought for my bread. I so excited to here this I jet back to my fiance’s apartment to begin the journey.

First off let me give credit where credit is due. The following recipe was based off the one found at this link

http://www.food.com/recipe/crusty-whole-wheat-italian-bread-38746

Dry Ingredients

1. 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar

2. 1 1/2 teaspoons salt

3. 3 cups whole wheat flour

4. 1 package active dry yeast

Wet Ingredients

1 1/4 cups of luke warm water

Dough Rise # 1

After I warmed up the water in the microwave for about 30 seconds on regular power, I poured it into a rather large pot.

Then I continued to add the brown sugar and yeast.

After stirring it for a second or two, I allowed it to sit for about 5-10ish minutes.

As I patiently waited, I measure out half of the needed amount of whole wheat flour

and all of the salt.

Once added, I mixed very enthustically with my pasta spoon.

I then added the rest of the flour stirring and kneading the dough inside the pot (I had no where else to do it) until it was stiff yet smooth.

ooooo so shiny!!

Using an aluminum pie pan prayed with PAM, I plopped the chunk of dough and move it around to grease it up. Then I placed a 9 X 13 aluminium baking thing..overtop the pie pan and set it in the oven with no heat on.

After an hour of praying that the dough will rise, I opened the oven to peak on the results.

Dough expansion!! Now that’s what I am taking about!

Dough Rise #2

After I did a victory dance, I beat the dough down and divided it in half. I made two very narrow cylinders of dough and placed them onto a greased 9 X 13 baking sheet. I then attempted to use the same 9X13 alumuninum baking thing to cover up the dough for the second rising which by the way should last about 45 minutes.

To pass the 45 minutes I gazed endlessly at episodes of Bridezilla on Netflix. I took notes in my head on what NOT to do during my engagement.

Time to Bake!! Preheat oven to 400 degrees F

To my dismay the did not rise or expand as before probably because the oven was not big enough to fit both pans and the door did not close tightly…

With a little bit of disappointment and defeat I made a few indent slices across each loaf and sprinkled some flour over top.

I shoved those suckers bake into the oven (at 400 degrees F), and gave them about 15ish minutes to bake and brown.

Voila!!

A little narrow for Italian bread..but I just told my friend I made French bread instead 😉

Two loaves are supposed to be enough for about 16 servings…however the four of us consumed both of them in one sitting.

I am pretty sure my fiance ate about half of bread on his own.

Here is the nutrition info according to the recipe’s website

Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

Calories 92.4

Fat 0.4 g

Protien 2.9 g

Sugar 1.7 g

And that was the story of the Italian bread gone French!

If you decide to give this a try and come up with better results share your story!

Thanks!

The Foodie

Leave a Reply

