I am “Nut”s I “tella”

While eating my bagel thin breakfast, I stared at the Nutella nestled on my desk. Image

Its chocolatey goodness makes my tongue salivate (even now when I am typing!)

I have unfortunately been binging on this hazelnutty and sugary sweet spread. It is difficult because this is truly the only chocolate fix I have on me most times when I am in my dorm. It is also usually the most flavorful thing I have to eat. So I go crazy.

Image

As you can see its almost gone…this is week # 5 and I have used this decadent spread for every occasion (breakfast, lunch, and dinner)

Here is my concern…Many say that Nutella has lied about being a healthier alternative to peanut butter.

To be honest its a tough argument.

Nutritionally speaking here is the comparison between the too:

Peanut butter 

Calories 188, Fat 16g, Protein 8g, Carbs 6g, Potassium 208mg

Nutella

Calories 200, Fat 11g, Protein 2g, Carbs 23g, Potassium 151mg

According to that, peanut butter kinda comes out on top. Nutella may have less fat, but the type of fat in peanut butter is typically poly or mono unsaturated fats which are the fats your body needs.

Crunchy Peanut Butter Spread Contains 90% Peanuts Taken from

 (http://www.jif.com/Products/Details?categoryId=339&productId=954)

Now here are the ingredients in both:

Peanut butter

Peanuts, dextrose, hydrogenated vegtable oil (cotton seed and/or rapeseed) and salt.
 
Nutella
 
Sugar, palm oil, hazelnuts, cocoa, skim milk, reducded minerals whey (milk), leacithin as emulsifier (soy), vanillin: an artificial flavor.
 
If we were going by the whole no more than five ingredients rule…peanut butter would win. If we were going by the no artifical flavors..peanut butter would win. Even if I knew what reduced minerals whey was…peanut butter would still win.
 
But do not fret my fellow Nutella lovers!!
 
I may have found a solution..what if there was a simple and inexpensive way to concot our own healthier Nutella???
 
At least healthier from the standpoint of knowing what ingredients are going into my belly.
 
Let’s face it…it’s hard to make anything sweet without it havnig lots of sugar, but I will take on that challenge!…if I can afford it..
 
So it may not be this week, but in the near future I plan on conquering such a feat.
 
Suggestions are welcome, especially one that do not break the bank.
 
P.S. I do not have a blender or food processor whichI discovered might be useful when trying to create such things…if anyone can help me find another way of making it that would be great…all I have is metal spoons, pots and pans, and a juicer…
 
Until next time,
 
The Foodie
Leave a Reply

