Karmel Apple Oooey Gooey Chewies

Okay so I know that’s not how you really spell caramel, but I wanted to spell it phonetically correct according to the way I pronounce it (the right way) 😉

 Anyways I made these puppies up on a whim for snack at church this past Sunday…

People were hesistant by the stickiness, but overall I think they went over pretty well.

Alot of this recipe was improvision and changing things at the last second..so I apologize if it may seem all over the place because that is how I felt while making them.

The best part about this recipe is that  I have purchased things over time, this time I did not need to buy anything!!

That being said…

Let’s get this party started!!

Dry ingredients

 1 2/3 cup oatmeal

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

 

Wet ingredients

 1 tsp. vanilla

1 apple (creates apple juice)

1/4 cup  honey

Awesome Oooey Gooey Glaze

 1/3 cup brown sugar

½ tsp vanilla

1/3 c milk (I used soy milk)

First you want to make sure you wash that apple thoroughly

** A side note: Due to the extreme amounts of pesticides used on apples it is cleaner and better tasting to buy apples from local farmers’ markets

Next, this is when things got crazy, I decided I was going to juice the apple.

Do not have a juicer, blender, or food processor? No problem! Just do your best to chop up the apples as fine as possible.

But first the seeds and core of the apple had to disposed of.

After slicing and dicing I did some light reading to figure out how this contraption worked

Wash fruit, check! Core apple, check! Plug in juicer, check! Shove apple slice into juicer….

Not check! It took me about 3 more times to chop the apple slices to fit the funny shape juice thing and let me tell you they were not pretty. That is why there were no pictures.

Now that they were at the right shape, it was juicing time!!

One apple produce slightly less the 1 cup of juice

As well as a little more than a 1/4 cup of leftover apple skin

*For me this was good point to start preheating the oven at 350 degrees.

After I calmed down from the excitement of juicing, I set the apple items aside and began to compile the mixture

First I took all of the dry ingredients: oatmeal, brown sugar, and cinnamon, and mixed them all up in a bowl.

Next I took the vanilla, honey, and apple juice, and mixed them together. *If you do not have juicer use 6 tbsp of applsauce to replace juice*

Slowly combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients. Add in the leftover apple scraps from the juicing.

Next in a lightly greased 8 x 8 pan…I used my aluminium pie pan…dump this mixture in it and spread it out as thin as possible.

It might look a little gross because of some this apple peels, but believe me it tastes soooo delish!

Next is the glaze. which because I thought of doing at the last second I forgot to take a picture.

Basically you  just take the milk, brown sugar, and vanilla, and mix them fiercely.

About 8 minutes into the baking, take the pan out and drizzle half of the glaze on top. Put leftover glaze into the fridge

Put it back into the oven for another 8 minutes or until crispy brown on the top.

Let the bars cool for about 30 minutes and then dump the rest of the glaze on top.

This recipe serves 16 people or 1 really hungry fiance 😉

Be sure to keep this chilled before use and watch out because these tasty treats cause sticky fingers and messy mouths.

Thanks for reading!

The Foodie

Leave a Reply

