Semi-Homemade Kit Kat Bars

I wanted to let you all know that this particular dessert came upon me at 5:00am last Friday.

I was awoken by the desire to make these treats for Father’s Day.

I honestly could not rest until I had the ingredients in my hands.

But here’s the catch, I had no recipe to really go of off…So I made one up…

In my half awake half asleep daze I heard the words Voortman’s wafers, mom’s chocolate fudge, and grandma’s peanut butter goop …

I did have to purchase the ingredients, except for the vanilla and powdered sugar, but it was $9.40 and I got use out of all the ingredients.

Once I remembered where I put my mommy’s delicious homemade chocolate fudge recipe, I was able to formulate some sort of plan.

However, due to certain funding cuts, I had to change it up a bit

Mom’s Homemade Chocolate Fudge

Dry ingredients

1 cup Milk Chocolate Chips

1/2 cup Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips

Wet Ingredients

1/2 cup of Milk (I used 1%)

3/4 tsp Vanilla

The next recipe adventure was my grandma’s peanut butter goop…it was written down at my grandma’s house.

Being too much in a hurry to call her, I decided to improvise.

The powdered sugar and peanut butter are combined in equal parts, whereas the milk is kinda see- how- much- you- need- as -you -go type of thing

Grandma’s Peanut Butter Goop

1/8 cup Milk (use as needed)

1 cup Peanut Butter

1 cup Powdered Sugar

Add in ingredient

1/2 package Voortman’s Vanilla Wafers

Now here is what I did…

1. First take about 16 vanilla wafers and slice them lengthwise in half.

You want to take your time and be careful not to break the wafers.

2. Next make up peanut butter goop.

Add the peanut butter and powdered sugar in half cup increments stirring as you add  little splashes of milk.

It was a little runny because I added wayyyyyy wayyyy too much milk.

I also used chunky peanut butter which was not part of the original recipe.

3. Its fudge making time!!!

For the fudge take the chocolate chips and milk and throw them into a microwaveable bowl.

Then pop it in the microwave for about 2 1/2 minutes

After that, chuck the vanilla into the bowl and stir

Chocolate fudge..Check!   Peanut butter goop..Check! Sliced wafers..Check!

Now its time those vanilla wafers get a chocolate bath…I was pretty jealous of them…

Before it gets too messy, get some wax paper set out on a 9 X 13 baking sheet

4. First, you want to take a half of a wafer and gently spread the goop on one side.

5. After that, add the remaining half back on

6. Dip the wafer into the chocolate fudge and roll it around to get completely covered.

FYI the fudge starts to stiffen fairly quickly, so yes you want to be gentle because you do not want the wafers to break, but move fast enough so that you do not get huge chunks of fudge on your kitkat bar….unless you do not mind…

This recipe makes roughly 16-20 wafers depending on how sparingly or not so sparingly you use the chocolate.

Keep bars chilled until serving time.

I must say these bars taste like the real deal.

Try this recipe out yourself and tell me how it goes.

Thanks!

The Foodie

One thought on “Semi-Homemade Kit Kat Bars

Leave a Reply

