Sweet Pea and Mint Soup

Well the adventures of making my own soup totally wiped me out, BUT in reality this was actually alot easier than I thought it would be.

It was only overwhelming due to the fact that my first soup creation had to be made for more then just a couple guests.

I took a recipe for 4 servings and multiplied by 5 for 20 people….I have never seen so many sweet peas at one time

**Before attempting this recipe make sure you have a blender or hand mixer** ( I will explain later why)

So I went the cheap route for this recipe therefore I had to make some changes due to the excess amount of salt.

The recipe called for frozen peas and me thinking of saving money bought canned peas that were on sale…

Little did I know that due to the sodium in the cans and salt needed in the recipe this soup would be pretty saltastic

So I will give a modified modified recipe for those are like me and need to save money by buying canned veggies.

This recipe will be for 4 servings.

Dry Ingredients

1 8oz can sweet peas

1 5oz onion

3/4 cup mint leafs

Pinch of salt

Wet Ingredients

2 cups vegetable broth

2 tbsp unsalted butter

Mint extract** optional

1. What I recommend doing is getting a huge mixing bowl and filling it with cold water. Dump the can of sweet peas into the bowl and allow the peas to soak to reduce the salty taste of the veggies.

 

2. While that is going on, grab your tissues because its onion chopping time!

Because I was making this recipe for 20 people it took me awhile to  skin and chop up this rather large onion

 

Its a good thing I was alone when I did this because tears were falling down my face so bad you’d think  I was blubbering like a baby.

3. Once you have the butter measured out dump it into a pot and allow to melt over medium heat.

4. After melting the butter, add the onion and just a pinch of salt . Let it cook for about 6-8 minutes or until its nice tender!!

 

5. When they are good and cooked add the vegetable stock and bring the liquid to a boil.

6. While you are waiting for the stuff to boil, drain your sweet peas…

Measure out your mint…

Of course you’d want to take the leave off the stems…

Then blend them up!!

Let me illustrate why you want to stick with a blender instead of a juicer….

You end up losing alot of your mint..which is another problem I had to remedy, but more one that later.

7. Once your liquidy goodness starts to boil, go ahead and turn off the heat. Allow the liquid to settle.

Now if you have an upright normal blender you are going to add the vegetable stock and onion liquid to the blended sweet pea and mint, and blend them together.

If not, and you used a hand mixer type thing like me (which I had to ask my sweet fiance to borrow from our friend at the last second), then add the blended veggies into pot itself and blend until smooth.

8. You want to get something like this.

9. Taste the soup to see if it is  too salty or just not minty enough. If more mint is needed add it in as 1/4 tsp increments, stirring and testing it before adding more.

10. And Viola!

Now some like this hot, some like it cold, but do not serve it to your guests in a pot five days old 😉

Thanks!,

The Foodie

Leave a Reply

