Homemade Applesauce

Phew!

It has been some time since I graced this page.

You’d think after my internship ended things would slow down, nope..

They only went from 0 to 60 in 2 seconds.

I have been able to make a few things along the way, many ideas inspired by my mom.

Just like this recipe:

Homemade Applesauce

10-12 apples

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

*Makes about 1 quart applesauce*

My niece and nephew picked almost 3 dozen apples from my grandmother’s relentless apple tree..

We tried to get rid of it multiple times due to its unfortunate location..

Right in the middle of a poison ivy patch.

The tree had been there for years, but before long poison ivy began to grow.

My uncles and dad are immune to poison ivy and were never bothered by this.

Therefore, they did not know there was an immense amount of this deviant leaf until one day I decided to pick some apples.

Being Italian, we know how to whip up a mass amounts of satisfying  food in no time.

So after apple picking for about 20 minutes I had enough apples for almost 4 dozen apple dumplings (which my grandma and I made right after I picked them)

Little did I know that the next morning at school (sophomore year at high school) on picture day that I would be plagued with poison ivy all over my body including my eyelids.

Needless to say the most recent venture of apple picking did not produce such unluckiness for my niece and nephew, but I still refuse to wrestle with those tree’s branches.

Now back to the recipe…I digress….

1. Wash the apples.

Mine had a little extra character to them.

I just had to cut out any bruises when I sliced them.

2. Peel the apples, this took forever…okay maybe just 30 minutes,  but still.

3. Core and chop.

4. Pop them into a pot (I used a large size) and add 1/2 inch of water to the bottom.

5. Place on the stove at medium heat partially covered for 18-20 minutes.

6. Next add sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla.

7. Allow this to cook for about 5-7 more minutes.

8. Mash up apples til you get the desired consistency.

I like mine slightly chunky, so I made sure to leave some texture.

9. Cool and eat!

My niece and nephew loved this applesauce!

Its a yummy kid friendly recipe for any kitchen 😉

Thanks!

-The Foodie

Leave a Reply

