Sweet Potato & Oreo Bar

Yes..It finally happened!

The union of sweet potatoes and oreos has been complete.

Now you may be thinking how? Or why?

Well I ask …. why not?

After allowing two of favorite flavors reign under the same roof, I noticed the couple had a few power struggles.

The sweetness of a sweet potato and that of an Oreo cookie are a bit different.

Chocolate VS vegetable.

I must say that I am still in the process of learning the perfect amount of sweet potato to Oreo cookie ratio as well the balancing of additional spices….

Overall I’d say this tactic was a success and I look forward to perfecting other sweet potato and Oreo yummies 🙂

 

Sweet Potato & Oreo Bar

¼ c honey

½ c sugar

½ cup applesauce

1 cup mashed sweet potatoes

1 cup sifted all-purpose flour ( I used whole wheat flour)

12 Oreo cookies

¼ tsp salt

¼ tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

* I attempted to create this dish 3 times. Each time I would notice that I was missing a key ingredient. By the third try, I decided to just go for it!*

 

1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F as well as grease up a medium sized  loaf pan (Its all I had…feel free to use any deep baking pan)

2. In a medium sized bowl, mix applesauce, honey, sugar, and sweet potato.

3. Crush up the cookies..I used the sweet potato can before I opened it.

4. Combine the crushed cookies, flour, cinnamon, and salt in a bigger bowl.

5. Mix the wet ingredients in with the dry. If you want, mix with your hands.

6. Pour the mixture into your baking pan and sprinkle a little extra cinnamon on top.

Allow to bake for 30-40 minutes or until it browns on top.

Check with a toothpick.

Yes I know..the picture is not as exciting as the actual bar..

Believe me, I was in a rush and forgot to take a picture and this is what I got.

This is good…

Fiance approved 🙂

Thanks!

-The Foodie

Leave a Reply

